

IHBC South East Branch AGM

Friday 1st March 2019
The Surrey History Centre
Woking

Minutes

1.0 Apologies of Absence

Eimear Murphy, Duncan Philips, Lisa Brooks, Stephen Gray & Sarah Mayfield

2.0 Minutes / Matters Arising

The minutes of the last meeting were agreed, there were no matters arising.

3.0 Treasurers Report

The treasurer confirmed that the report had been issued to members by email which reported a small profit from last Annual School in Faversham, and that the branch had accrued a bank balance of over £4,000.00. It was reported that the Committee had been busy engaging on the 2020 IHBC and as such local branch events were not as frequent as other years however the committee is looking to create more events.

Agreement of the treasurer's report was nominated by Jo Evans and agreed by Sanne Roberts.

4.0 Chairs report

It was reported that the last school day was in Faversham with a theme of Retrofit and there was a talk in Brighton by Charles Mynors on curtilage listing. The committee has been trying to ensure good geographical coverage of the branch area through the location of events. It was reported that in addition the branch the committee had adopted a similar approach to Committee meetings and also by arranging virtual meetings to ensure members from across the branch would have the opportunity to become involved in Branch business.

It was confirmed that the Annual school of the IHBC in 2020 was to be held in Brighton and that the branch were working with Head Office on developing the theme, programme of speakers and tours and securing venues. It was identified that a number of committee members were standing down and as such a number of positions on the committee were open for new election.

The Chair wished to thank all members of the committee for their work over the last year for the SE branch and particularly wanted in recognition of his input to conservation, posthumously thank Eddie Booth for his contribution to the Branch

5.0 Election of Committee Members

- 5.1 <u>Chair:</u> Duncan Philips agreed to remain Chair, no further candidates came forward
- 5.2 <u>Vice Chair:</u> This post is currently vacant, Sanne Roberts confirmed that she was willing to stand for Vice Chair.
- 5.3 <u>Branch Representative on the Council:</u> Sanne Roberts confirmed that she was willing to stay on in this position.
- 5.4 <u>Treasurer:</u> Lone Le Vay current treasurer confirmed that she would be willing to continue in this post.
- 5.5 <u>Membership Secretary</u>: Sanne Roberts confirmed that Eimear Murphy was steeping down in this post. No nominations were received however it was reported that the committee was confident that the members without portfolio would be able to take on board the duties of this position.
- 5.6 <u>Secretary</u>: It was confirmed that Lone Le Vay has confirmed that she would be willing to take on the role on a temporary basis until someone else stepped forward.
- 5.7 <u>Events/Social Media Secretary:</u> Chris Reynolds confirmed that he was willing to stand.
- 5.8 <u>Surrey County Rep</u>:— Chris Reynolds confirmed that he was willing to stand as Surrey Rep.
- 5.9 <u>West Sussex County Rep:</u> It was confirmed that Sean Rix was standing down and no nominations were received. Sanne Roberts confirmed that Sussex Conservation Officer Group covered both East and West Sussex, therefore it would be possible for single rep to cover both Counties.
- 5.10 <u>East Sussex County Rep:</u> Tanya Szendeffy confirmed that she was willing to continue in the role and act as the Joint Sussex Rep until someone came forward to take on the West Sussex role.
- 5.11 <u>Kent County Rep:</u> Debbie Maltby confirmed in the absence of any other interested parties she was willing to continue in the role.
- 5.12 The Branch Committee was, therefore, agreed as follows:-

POST	NOMINEE	PROPOSED BY	SECONDED BY
CHAIR	Duncan Phillips	Deborah Gardner	Chris Reynolds
VICE CHAIR	Sanne Roberts	Lone le Vay	Tanya Szendeffy
BRANCH REP on COUNCIL	Sanne Roberts	Tanya Szendeffy	Maggie Henderson
TREASURER	Lone Le Vay	Sanne Roberts	Deborah Gardner
MEMBERSHIP	Vacant		
SECRETARY	Lone Le Vay	Sanne Roberts	Deborah Gardner
EVENTS/MEDIA			
SEC.	Chris Reynolds	Lone Le Vay	Deborah Gardner
SURREY REP	Chris Reynolds	Sanne Roberts	Lone le Vay
SUSSEX REP	Tanya Szendeffy	Deborah Gardner	Maggie Henderson
KENT REP	Debbie Maltby	Lone Le Vay	Sanne Roberts
OFFICERS WITHOUT PORTFOLIO Chris Reynolds			Lone Le Vay

Eimear Murphy,

Deborah Gardner,

Maggie Henderson,

Sarah Mayfield,

Lisa Brooks,

Heather Hall,

Sarah Sullivan

Helen Parvin

6.0 IHBC Governance Discussion

This part of the meeting was handed over to James Caird & David McDonald. Full details of the governance proposals have been published on the IHBC Website

7.0 Any Other Business

Deborah Gardner reported the passing of IHBC Member Glenn Moore of GMA Associates.

8.0 Date of Next Meeting

At next Day School 2018/9 TBC